Main content

Council for Correspondence Collected Records


Held at: Swarthmore College Peace Collection [Contact Us]500 College Avenue, Swarthmore 19081-1399

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Swarthmore College Peace Collection. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

Founded in 1960 at a meeting at Bear Mountain, New York; originally named the Committee of Correspondence, in the tradition of the Committees of Correspondence of the American Revolution; headquartered in New York, N.Y.; formed to give Americans an intellectual forum to speak and work against the nuclear arms race which had been precipitated by the Cold War between the United States and the Soviet Union and their allies; changed name to Council for Correspondence in 1962 to avoid confusion with another group of the same name. Members of the original council were: John C. Bollens, Stephen G. Cary, William Davidon, Jerome Frank, Erich Fromm, Robert W. Gilmore, Cecil Hinshaw, H. Stuart Hughes, William R. Huntington, Russell Johnson, Sidney Lens, Robert J. Lifton, Michael Maccoby, Lenore Marshall, Stewart Meacham, Everett Mendelsohn, A.J. Muste, Clarence E. Pickett, Robert Pickus, Marcus Raskin, David Riesman, Mulford Sibley, John Swomley, Harold Taylor, and Norman J. Whitney; issued a newsletter, later (July-Aug. 1963) titled The Correspondent, published in Cambridge, Mass. until at least 1965.

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is not the official repository for the records of this organization.

Swarthmore College Peace Collection

Collection Inventory

Print, Suggest