Main content

Youth Literary Society constitution


Held at: Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections [Contact Us]370 Lancaster Ave, Haverford, PA 19041

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

The Youths Literary Society was formed in 1844 or 1845 and consisted of nine members at its inception. The association was governed by a president, a secretary, and a treasurer, more generally called "the officers." The officers wrote letters to "the council," which was likely the council of The Haverford School.

This collection contains the constitution for the Youths Literary Society as well as a pledge by the society's officers. Both documents are addressed "To the Council." The constitution includes six articles regardinging the name of the association, how the government of the society will function, and protocols for new members and amendments to the constitution. The constitution is signed by nine students from the Classes of 1844, 1845, and 1846. The second document pledges that the officers of Youths Literary Society will not perform any theatrical plays or obtain books for their library without the approval of the Council. This pledge is signed by president Isaac Hartshorne and Thomas F. Brown, who served as both the secretary and the treasurer of the society.


Processed by Maia Schwallie, completed March 2023.

Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections
Finding Aid Author
Maia Schwallie
Finding Aid Date
March, 2023
Access Restrictions

The collection is open for research use.

Use Restrictions

Standard Federal Copyright Law Applies (U.S. Title 17)

Collection Inventory

Youth Literary Society constitution, ca. 1844-1845.
Box 1

Print, Suggest