Main content

George Washington Taylor account books


Held at: Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections [Contact Us]370 Lancaster Ave, Haverford, PA 19041

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

George W. Taylor (1803-1891) was born on March 14, 1803, in Radnor, Pennsylvania, the son of Jacob and Elizabeth Richards Taylor. Taylor was convinced (converted to Quakerism) and joined Friends at 12 St. Meeting. In 1826, he had an interview with Elias Hicks. From 1829 to 1830, he taught at Westtown School. Taylor became a store keeper in Philadelphia with a special emphasis on Free Labor Goods. He published the magazine "The Non-Slaveholder," and a paper devoted to peace cause called "The Citizen of the World."

George W. Taylor married three times. His first marriage was to Elizabeth Sykes in 1831, his second to Ruth Leeds in 1864, and his third marriage was to Elizabeth Burton in 1885.

George W. Taylor died on January 10, 1891, in West Philadelphia in his 88th year.

This collection is comprised of the four volumes of the account books of George W. Taylor. The volumes record deposits, withdrawals for payments for goods and services, and account balances.


Processed by Kara Flynn; completed November, 2015.

Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections
Finding Aid Author
Kara Flynn
Finding Aid Date
November, 2015
Access Restrictions

The collection is open for research use.

Use Restrictions

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Collection Inventory

Vol. 1, 1831-1843. 0.13 linear ft..
Volume 1
Physical Description

0.13 linear ft.

Vol. 2, 1847-1882. 0.17 linear ft..
Volume 2
Physical Description

0.17 linear ft.

Vol. 3, 1863-1882. 0.13 linear ft..
Volume 3
Physical Description

0.13 linear ft.

Vol 4, 1859-1881.
Volume 4

Print, Suggest