Main content

Committee for National Security Collected Records


Held at: Swarthmore College Peace Collection [Contact Us]500 College Avenue, Swarthmore 19081-1399

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Swarthmore College Peace Collection. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

Committee for National Security; CNS; headquartered in Washington D.C.; began in 1980 as a national, private organization composed of prominent Americans with interest and expertise in foreign policy; non-partisan; concerned about national security, U.S./Soviet relations and nuclear proliferation; Paul C. Warnke was honorary chairman; other members of the executive board included Robert (Bob) Edgar, Richard Barnet, William Colby, and Lawrence J. Korb.

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is not the official repository for the records of the Committee for National Security.

Swarthmore College Peace Collection
Access Restrictions

Collection is open for research without restrictions.

Collection Inventory

Print, Suggest