Main content

Elizabeth Wilkinson journal

Notifications

Held at: Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections [Contact Us]370 Lancaster Ave, Haverford, PA 19041

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

Elizabeth Wilkinson (1712-1771) was born at Use-bridge-end in Isell Old Park in Cumberland, England. Her parents died when she was young and she was sent to Ireland and then London. After her return to Cumberland, she married Jonathon Wilkinson. She first appeared in the ministry in 1760. Wilkinson travelled as a minister on religious visits to the colonies in North America from 1761 to 1763, and to Scotland and Ireland upon her return from North America. She died in her home at Cockermouth in 1771.

This collection is comprised of the single handwritten journal of Elizabeth Wilkinson. The diary describes her religious visit to Friends in North America from her home in England. Entries describe her travel from England to Boston on the ship Beulah with fellow Quakers John Stephenson, Robert Proud, Alice Hall, and Wilkinson's "companion," Hannah Harris.

Upon her arrival in America, Wilkinson's diary entries describe visits to Friends and attendance at meetings throughout Massachusetts, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, Rhode Island, New York, and Pennsylvania. Entries also describe Wilkinson's concerns in the ministry.

The Elizabeth Wilkinson journal was purchased by Special Collections, Haverford College in 1923.

Processed by Kara Flynn; completed July, 2015.

Publisher
Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections
Finding Aid Author
Kara Flynn
Finding Aid Date
July, 2015
Access Restrictions

The collection is open for research use.

Use Restrictions

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Collection Inventory

Archival Resource Key. Journal, 1761-1763.
Volume 1

Print, Suggest