Main content

David Proskauer Quaker Music


Held at: Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections [Contact Us]370 Lancaster Ave, Haverford, PA 19041

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

David Proskauer is a member of the South Berkshire Friends Meeting in Great Barrington, MA. Gregg Smith, born on August 21st, 1931, was the director of the mixed chorus Gregg Smith Singers. His group has recieved three Grammy Awards for their music.

John Greenlead Whittier, born on December 17, 1807, was an American poet known for his abolitionist work. He passed away on September 7th, 1892. Geoffrey Weedon, born in 1931, was a poet and member of the Kingston Quaker Meeting in Kingston, England. He passed away in 2021. Kenneth Boulding, born on January 18th, 1910, was an American economist, educator, philosopher, and poet who was known for his peace activism. He passed away on March 18th, 1993. John Gould Fletcher, born on January 3rd, 1886, was an American poet who won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1939. He passed away on May 10th, 1950. W.S. Merwin, born on September 30th, 1927, was an American poet and author who won various awards in his career, including the 1971 and 2009 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. He passed away on March 15th, 2019.

This collection consists of Quaker music written by David Proskauer. It contains both handwritten and printed works, notably A Young Woman's Quaker Life, which feautures Barbara Fretchie by John Greenleaf Whittier, and Proskauer's Quaker Voices: A Cantata, which features First Day Thoughts by John Greenleaf Whittier, Draw Breath by Geoffrey Weedon, Psalm 139 v. 1-7, Sonnet for a Quaker Wedding by Kenneth Boulding, and Faith by John Gould Fletcher. He's also included various handwritten works of his, such as A Living Silence, The Pacifist, The Light Within, and At the Foot of Monument Mountain.

One Folder.

Gift of David Proskauer, June 2019.

Processed by Erick Iraheta, February 2023.

Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections
Finding Aid Author
Erick Iraheta
Finding Aid Date
February, 2023
Access Restrictions

The collection is open for research use.

Use Restrictions

Standard Federal Copyright Law Applies (U.S. Title 17)

Collection Inventory

David Proskauer Quaker Music.
Box 62

Print, Suggest