Main content

Stephen Shipley Wilson collection


Held at: Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections [Contact Us]370 Lancaster Ave, Haverford, PA 19041

This is a finding aid. It is a description of archival material held at the Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections. Unless otherwise noted, the materials described below are physically available in their reading room, and not digitally available through the web.

Overview and metadata sections

Henry J. Wilson (b. 1833) was elected to British Parliament in 1885. He was a member of the Royal Commission on Opium in India from 1893 to 1895, and acted on behalf of temperance and the repeal of the Contagious Diseases Acts. Alexander Cowan Wilson (b. 1866), his son, became a Quaker in 1899. A champion of many causes, his two main concerns were the right use of wealth and peace testimony.

(Information from internal evidence and the Dictionary of Quaker Biography)

The collection consists of correspondence, primarily between Liberal members or activists in the British government and Henry Joseph Wilson or Alexander Cowan Wilson. It is concentrated in the period when Gladstone and Disraeli led the Whig and Tory parties (1860s to 1890s).

Correspondents include Archbishop Benson, Jacob Bright, George Cadbury, William Lloyd Garrison, William Ewart Gladstone, Ramsay MacDonald, Harriet Martineau, and John Morley.

The Stephen Shipley Wilson collection was donated to Special Collections, Haverford College in 1977 by Stephen S. Wilson.

Original processing information unknown. Reboxed and finding aid revised in June 2022 by Cole Hannah.

Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections
Access Restrictions

The collection is open for research use.

Use Restrictions

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Collection Inventory

Correspondence A-H.
Box 1
Scope and Contents

Letter writers include A.H.D Acland, Elizabeth Andrews, Duke Argyll, R.A. Armstrong, H. Campbell Bannerman, Edward Benson, Jacob Bright, James Bryce, T.E. Butler, George Cadbury, Frederick Cavendish, Coleridge, John Cowan, Hugh Dalton, William Garrison, William Ewart Gladstone, Granville, George Leveson-Gower, Keir J. Hardie, F.W. Hirst, and John A. Hobson. Topics include statistics, parliamentary discussions, the India Office, the Contagious Diseases Acts, and the Boer War.

Correspondence J-S.
Box 1
Scope and Contents

Letter writers include Henry James, Wilfrid Lawson, Ramsay MacDonald, Tom Mann, Harriet Martineau, John Morley, Ripon, and Arthur G. Symonds. Topics include labor and length of work day, elections, Indian politics, Boer War, and militarism.

Print, Suggest